Jenna Lou Designs Interview

18 Jan

Yesterday, the lovely custom clutches created by Jenna Lou Designs were featured.  Today, we’ll find out more about Jenna and Jenna Lou Designs.  It’s wonderful we have such an excellent shop in Minnesota that offers such delightful items and personalized details.jenna lou designs 1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
My name is Jenna Odegard and I’m a self-described craft-o-holic.  My main craft of choice is sewing, but I dabble in just about everything.  I grew up and live in Southern Minnesota with my husband and two rescue dogs.

2. Outside of creating things, what do you do?
I love to read, bike, cook, create, travel.jenna lou designsjenna lou designs custom clutches3. How did you begin making clutches, handbags and accessories?
The true beginning to my love for sewing began as a kid.  I have a photo of me at my mom’s sewing machine when I was 3 1/2 years old.  I don’t know what kind of a mother lets a 3 1/2 year old sew, but I’m sure glad she let me try (or pretend).  After that I always loved creating things and being artistic.  As a senior in high school I started Jenna Lou Designs as a way to make more money than my sales clerk job allowed and as a creative outlet for my constant need to be crafty and create.jenna lou designs custom handbagscustom wedding clutch flower detail4. How would you describe your creative process?
Once the product is dreamed up then I start with how I want the bag or item to sit/drape/or be carried.  From there the designing and testing begins.  It’s important to me that my products not only look good, but are useful and built well too so sometimes this happens in several phases.  When I’m happy with the design I get to move on to my favorite part.  Choosing which materials and hardware will actually be used.bridal and bridesmaid custom clutchescustom wedding clutch personalized bridesmaid message

5. What inspires you and your designs?
Honestly it is very vague.  Sometimes I start with an idea like the shape, other times it’s just trying to find a way to incorporate a new material or hardware.  Inspiration can come from necessity, but also organically.

6. What’s the best part of your job?
Talking with so many wonderful people.  I work with a lot of brides on designing custom bridal clutches and I’m always fascinated and excited by the colors and themes that they are using.  I love working with their descriptions and wishlist to create sets that fit naturally and beautifully into their wedding days.  The biggest reward is hearing back how well the clutches were received and loved.  It means a lot to me that I can in some small way make a bride’s wedding day even more special.

Images: all images via Jenna Lou Designs except last image | Last Image: Caroline and Evan Photography via Style Me Pretty

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

